Literary CircleUncategorized

5 Award Winners In The African Literary Scene In 2019

Spread the love
Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

Hello Synners!

How’s your week going? And how has November been for you?

Today, we’re bringing you a list of award winners in the literary scene in the year 2019.

These are writers who have been recognized for their various works this year.

Jude Idada

Jude Idada is a Nigerian writer, filmmaker whose book ‘Boom Boom’ won the 2019 Nigeria Liquified Natural Gas (NLNG) prize for Literature.

Jude Idada is also a playwright, actor, producer, screenwriter and poet. He has also won awards for some of his screenplays, dramas, etc.

Boom Boom is however his third children’s book and it centers on Sickle cell disease. He was a guest on our #SyncityNGLLL show and you can read his interview here.

Lesley Nneka Arimah

The London born-Nigerian writer who currently lives in Minnesota, United States won the 2019 Caine Prize for African Writing for her short story ‘Skinned’.

This is not her first time receiving an award as her debut book ‘What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky.’ was nominated for several awards and won about three.

Ayobami Adebayo

The 31 year old Nigerian writer who is a graduate of Obafemi Awolowo University and is resident in Lagos, Nigeria won the 2019 9mobile prize for literature with her debut novel Stay With Me which was published in 2017.
The book was shortlisted for the the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction, Wellcome Book Prize and was also longlisted for the International Dylan Thomas Prize.

The book which is set to be published in several other languages has been named the Best Book of the Year by The Guardian, Notable Book of the Year by The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and lots of other publications.

Oyinkan Braithwaite

The Lagos-born novelist won the 2019 LA Times Book Award for Best Crime Thriller for her book, ‘My Sister, The Serial Killer.’
The book which is being considered for a movie adaptation has been praised by several publications and shortlisted for the 2019 Women’s Prize for Fiction, shortlisted for the 2019 Amazon Publishing Readers’ Awards and was longlisted for the 2019 Booker Prize.

E.E Sule

E.E Sule is fiction writer and poet who has authored several publications which include collections of short stories, novels, poetry volumes, etc.
He is also a professor of African literature and cultural studies and he is known as Professor Emmanuel Egya Sule, but writes under the pen name E.E Sule.
He won the 2019 Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA) award for Prose Fiction with his book, ‘Makwala’
This is not a first for him as his debut novel, ‘Sterile Sky’ won the 2013 Common Wealth Book Prize.

Did we miss any name? Tell us in the comments. Don’t forget that a true Synner will share this post!

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *